Hi.

Hello, My name is Thomas and I’ve just it the big Three- Ohhh….

I’ve been collecting various things my entire adult life and for the last few years been focusing on local artifacts which I think have historical value and tell the story of my country: Ireland, more specifically Ulster.

My intention of starting this blog is to have a database of sorts where I can store photos and stories of the various things I find and to share them with other like minded folks. I can’t tell you how many times I have found something interesting only to find that there is no other info out there.

This may be the longest blog I write as I intend it to be more off a photo blog than a wordy one.

I find most things at car boot sales and thrift stores but I also like to go mudlarking, fossicking and digging for things too. I have yet to buy a metal detector but hey, it’s only a matter of time.

So without further adieu, I will get the ball rolling.

Limavady - Ritter

This is a bottle from my home town of Limavady. It is a Mineral Water bottle that dates circa 1870’s. I found this at a cool little antique store the next town over after having searched for it for just over a year.

The Ritter family was one of the most prominent at that time, having introduced the 1st hydro electric dam in the north west of Ireland and selling it to the townsfolk at a substantially lower rate than what the then national grid could.

I know of 1 other glass bottle baring the name Limavady and 3 stoneware bottles but they are so rare that I have never had the chance to buy one.

I will keep hunting though as that is where the thrill of collecting lies.

 

 

N.B. A few links if your’e interested in collecting irish bottles:

Irish antique bottles collectors club https://www.facebook.com/groups/232010943545925/

Irish bottle digging crew https://www.facebook.com/groups/462492457141600/

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Bottles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

